Introducing Yourself

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Introducing Yourself

Hi! I am Elroy Kanye and I hail from the North West of Cameroon. I just completed my third year at the National Higher Polytechnic Institute of the University of Bamenda, majoring in Computer Engineering. I have always been inspired by my brother, Emmanuel, steadily following his footsteps and leading to an interest in computer programming and gaming in secondary. I became enthusiastic about this in High School and have been into systems and enterprise applications since then.

IMG-9720.JPG

I grew up in Ndop with my family and currently live in Bambili which are both in the North West region of Cameroon. My parents, the most amazing duo I have ever witnessed, raised me in an environment filled with blissful mystery. You could easily find me playing around with old cassette tape players, radios, broken phones, and bamboo. I have always had a deep interest in making things work my way and have always wondered what it will be like to make my world. This accurately describes my movie preferences - sci-fi (time travel, multi-dimensional etc), mystery, thriller, sitcoms and general comedy. I would recommend you watch the movie "Fringe". I love listening to nature, hip-hop, UK Drill and RNB/Soul. I am known to always study and work with rhythmic noise. During my free time, I play games, take walks or just sleep.

IMG_20210628_094956_454 (1).jpg Monday, June 28, 2021 (I do not remember what I was doing...)

Over the years, my experience and that of the people around me have instilled some values ​​that I believe are important. My core values ​​are:

  • Determination: This is what keeps me going and I sometimes believe it is a fault. I could take days without sleep obsessed with a seemingly trivial issue. This has made me known and done a lot over short periods, getting experiences at a younger age than normal. All I am pretty much left with is to regulate this drive.

    If it does not work, make it work...if you can't, learn.

  • Knowledge: Ignorance must be my greatest fear. In a group chat, if someone brings a topic I do not have ideas on, I immediately google that. I find myself preparing randomly for conversations I have not yet, learning things just because someone my age knows them and getting frustrated on concepts that don't matter to me or any of my interests just because of this. However, I do my best to keep being informed and it is mostly just curiosity. I do my best to help others tap into what I know too and use my knowledge in decision-making.

  • Leadership: Looking for the kid who was always a class monitor? You found me! I have this natural intuitive tendency to lead and leave a legacy for those who I lead. I do my best to lead by example and be in the same situation as those I lead. I am always looking forward to making people better and more apt leaders than myself.

Since the year 2021, I have had an interest in open source development. I found it as a part of software development which involves a lot of learning for developers of all levels. I started creating projects and uploading them on elroykanye@github. However, I was always working on my projects and not contributing to open source, so I started looking for other projects to contribute to. I got the first real experience when I contributed to Spring Cloud OpenFeign. I then continued this way with other projects I found and eventually, I applied for Outreachy because I saw the opportunity to learn, grow and acquire the resources and knowledge I needed for my development career as a whole. Contributing to OpenRefine during the contribution phase was one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had in my life and I had the best learning and mentoring sessions from the community.

My internship so far has been a wonderful one and I am looking forward to the next months of awesomeness!